Verification: 7c860de3b222a547
Knowledge is a Basic Human Right


Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Scholarships for International Students at the University of Alberta


Another amazing scholarship on offer to international students seeking to further their academic studies abroad. Applications for the Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Scholarship are now open to international students from all over the world to study at the University of Alberta in Canada.

University of Alberta

The Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Scholarship is available to outstanding students who will be commencing the first year of a doctoral degree program for the 2022/23 academic session at the University of Alberta in Canada.


However, in this article, we will explain in full details everything you need to know about the Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Scholarship, its eligibility requirements, scholarship benefits, how to apply, and any other important information pertaining to the scholarship program.

About the Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Scholarship

The Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Scholarships are the most prestigious graduate awards administered by the University of Alberta. They are awarded to outstanding doctoral students who, at the time of application, have completed at least one year of graduate study. There is no restriction as to citizenship. All fields of study are eligible for funding.

In establishing this memorial to her late husband, Dorothy Johnston Killam’s purpose was “to help in the building of Canada’s future by encouraging advanced study… to increase the scientific and scholastic attainments of Canadians, to develop and expand the work of Canadian universities, and to promote sympathetic understanding between Canadians and the peoples of other countries.” It was her “desire that those selected to receive Scholarships shall be likely to contribute to the advancement of learning or to win distinction in a profession.

The University of Alberta, also known as U of A or UAlberta, is a public research university located in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. It was founded in 1908 by Alexander Cameron Rutherford the first premier of Alberta, and Henry Marshall Tory, the university’s first president.

Moreover, the University of Alberta is one of Canada’s top universities and among the world’s leading public research-intensive universities, with a reputation for excellence across the humanities, sciences, creative arts, business, engineering, and health sciences. The University of Alberta is ranked in the top five in Canada and top 150 in the world.

Scholarship Summary

Furthermore, here’s an overview of the Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Scholarship:

Scholarship Sponsor(s):

The Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Fund

Host Institution(s):

University of Alberta, Canada.

Scholarship Type:

Full funding

Study Level:

Doctoral program

Field(s) of Study:

Unrestricted, all fields offered at the University of Alberta are eligible for funding.

Scholarship Value:

$45,000. See the scholarship benefits section below for more details.

Number of Awards:

Not specified

Eligible Nationalities:



Two years


February 15, 2022.

Scholarship Benefits

Moreover, the Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Scholarship program will provide the recipients with the following inclusions:

The award is valued at up to $45,000 a year for 2 years (subject to renewal in year two of the award), plus any applicable International Graduate Differential Fee. Recipients will also receive a certificate acknowledging their award.

Eligibility Requirements for the Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Scholarship

However, applicants must meet the following criteria below to be eligible to apply for this scholarship program:

  • Applicants must be outstanding students registered in, or admissible to a doctoral program
  • There are no restrictions on citizenship. International and domestic students can apply for this application. Moreover, all fields are eligible for funding
  • Applicants must have completed at least one year of graduate work (master’s or doctoral level) before the start of tenure; tenure may begin on May 1st or September 1st
  • Applicants should have a first-class academic standing (equivalent to a
    GPA of 3.5 or greater over the current graduate program graded
    course work at UofA)
  • As the Killam Scholarship is offered for a two-year period (subject to review after the first year), applicants should anticipate being registered in a doctoral program for at least 18 months (as of May 2022) and must have completed no more than 48 months in the doctoral program as of December 31, 2021, to apply.

How to Apply for the Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Scholarship

Furthermore, you can follow the step-by-step guide below to apply for the scholarship program:

  • Firstly, to be considered for this award, you must apply for admission to a doctoral program at the University of Alberta.
  • Then, you must complete the Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Scholarship Application Form
  • Moreover, you will have to ensure that the application form and all other supporting documents are submitted to the department by the departmental deadline to be considered for both the Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Scholarship.

A complete Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Scholarship Application includes:

  • Scholarship Application Form
  • Two Letters of Reference to Support Applications for the Graduate Awards Form must be completed and signed by each applicant’s referees. A maximum of an additional 2 page confidential letter of reference may accompany the standard letter of reference form, but may not replace such.
  • Also, up-to-date transcripts of all undergraduate and graduate studies must be included in the application.

Read Also:

Additional Notes

In addition, it is important to visit the official website and read the application instructions for more detailed information on the eligibility criteria and how to apply for this scholarship program.

Moreover, each department sets its own internal deadline for receipt of applications. Applicants are encouraged to apply early and order required transcripts as soon as possible. Applicants must contact their department for the departmental deadlines.

However, the deadline for Departments to submit nominations via GSMS Awards Portal is Tuesday, February 15, 2022, by end of the day.

Official Website

In conclusion, please refer to the official website of the scholarship provider using the link below for more details on the eligibility requirements and application instructions for the Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Scholarship.

Official Website


Comments are closed.